SL Rider Amber Wing Places at 2011 Rockstar Energy Drink WWA Wakeboard World Championships

Indianapolis, Ind. – Fans lined the shores of The Precedent in northern Indianapolis today to catch the finals rounds of action at the 2011Rockstar Energy Drink WWA Wakeboard World Championships, presented by Supra. The sport’s top pros laid it all on the line in an exciting showdown to see who will be the 2011 world champion.

Capping off the 18th annual event was the Pro Men’s division, with its five-man final, The finale was led by top seed Harley Clifford and four former world champions, including Andrew Adkison, Rusty Malinoski, Phillip Soven and defending titlist Dean Smith.

All five pros threw down impressive runs, but it was Phillip Soven who made the biggest impact on the water to take home the 2011 world title – his third of his career.

The 22-year-old Florida native’s run was highlighted by his Crow 540, Whirlybird 720 and Toe-side 900, which earned the now three-time world champion a score of 90 points.

Harley Clifford and Dean Smith rounded out the Pro Men’s podium, respectively.

The WWA Worlds also served as the final stop in the 2011 WWA Wakeboard World Series, which crowned Harley Clifford its winner today. Clifford’s second-place finish was good enough to win the four-stop points race and its cash prize.

Phillip Soven and Adam Errington rounded out the top three in the Series, respectively.

In the Pro Women’s division, the top professional female riders in the world faced off in a six-woman final for the world title. All eyes were on top seed Amber Wing to see if the 28-year-old Aussie would win her fifth straight contest in the Queen of Wake series and reclaim the world title she won in 2007.

But with two uncharacteristic falls in her final run, Wing fell to second place, putting defending world champion Nicola Butler at the top of the contest podium.

Stu Shinn and Grant Roberts rounded out the top three in Men’s Wakeskate, respectively.

For more information on the WWA Worlds, visit

The 2011 WWA Worlds will air on the VERSUS television network at 5 p.m. ET on Tuesday, Sept. 27.

The Rockstar Energy Drink WWA Wakeboard World Championships, presented by Supra is organized by World Sports & Marketing of Orlando, Fla., and has the support of the following sponsors: Rockstar Energy Drink, Supra boats, WWA, Overton’s, Indmar, Peavey, Mona Vie, Billabong, Hyperlite, CWB, Ronix, Liquid Force, Byerly, Oakley, Sayiwon’t and TransWorld WAKEBOARDING magazine.

About Supra
Supra is the official tow boat of the ROCKSTAR WWA Wakeboard World Championships. Celebrating more than 30 years of excellence in the marine industry, Supra pioneered rider-friendly boats that feature innovative hull designs, adjustable wakes and versatile seating with sleek and sexy styling.

About WWA
The WWA Wakeboard World Championships is the solely owned property of the World Wakeboard Association (WWA). The WWA also owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard Nationals, WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wake Park World Series, WWA Wake Park Triple Crown and WWA Wake Park Nationals. With 27 affiliate countries worldwide, the WWA is the global leader in the sport of wake. The WWA is a rider-formed organization dedicated to promoting and growing wake sports worldwide. It is the leading source for riders, event organizers and competitive standards. For more information on the WWA and its events, check out


Pro Men – Final #1
1. Phillip Soven USA 90.00
2. Harley Clifford AUS 85.00
3. Dean Smith AUS 75.00
4. Rusty Malinoski CAN 65.00
5. Andrew Adkison USA 55.00

Pro Women – Final #1
1. Nicola Butler GBR 91.67
2. Amber Wing AUS 86.67
3. Raimi Merritt USA 81.67
4. Melissa Marquardt USA 71.67
5. Anna Hajek USA 63.33
6. Miku Asai JPN 48.33

Pro Wakeskate – Final #1
1. Reed Hansen USA 70.00
2. Stu Shinn USA 60.00
3. Grant Roberts USA 46.67
4. Brian Grubb USA 41.67

Jr. Pro Men – Final #1
1. Shota Tezuka JPN 89.75
2. Joshua Twelker USA 81.75
3. Dylan Prideaux AUS 80.75
4. Kyle Evans USA 71.75
5. Gordon Harrison USA 69.50
6. Freddie Wayne USA 56.50

Comments are closed.